Gingerbread Basilica

The following has been floating around on the internet for the past few days, but because it’s so related to visiting basilicas, I thought I would repost it here! Not to mention I’ve been swamped with work, so it’s some filler material until I get to my next basilica…

A chef from the Four Seasons in Georgetown (outside of DC) has recreated the Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conceptionin gingerbread.

The following are some pictures of it, courtesy of the Georgetown Patch:

Gingerbread Basilica

Side of Basilica

Close Up

Basilica Creator

If you want a picture of the real thing to compare it to, the following is a great shot:

Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception (by NCinDC)

I’ve visited this basilica twice now, and it’s absolutely beautiful! I highly recommend visiting. Although all of the shrines throughout the church are breathtaking, my favorite part is the Crypt Church on the bottom level, directly beneath the sanctuary. It just has this atypical, earthy feeling that is unusual for a church.

And actually, now that I’m thinking about it, what a great day to be posting this! Happy Feast of the Immaculate Conception!

One thought on “Gingerbread Basilica

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on Church Architecture | Here Is The Church…

Leave a Reply

