Soon-to-be Cardinal Dolan to Celebrate Mass at Holy Hill

I feel like this whole week has been nothing but interesting news. This morning, I found out that Archbishop Dolan of New York will be celebrating Mass at Holy Hill on April 28 at 4:30 PM in thanksgiving of his elevation to Cardinal. It’s so close to where I live, it’ll be difficult for me to justify not going. For those of you who are unaware, Archbishop Dolan was the head of the Milwaukee Archdiocese from 2002 to 2009, before moving to New York.

I’m rather fond of Archbishop Dolan, especially after reading the following statement from a recent article about his health and diet plans:

Shapiro also says that shortly after Dolan began dieting, “he called me to say, ‘I’m at a Steak ‘n’ Shake. What do I order?”

As a fellow Steak ‘n’ Shake lover who has learned to live without in Wisconsin, I completely understand.

5 thoughts on “Soon-to-be Cardinal Dolan to Celebrate Mass at Holy Hill

  1. Ooo…what a great reason to visit Holy Hill, since my last attempt was thwarted by vertigo. And my hubby will be Catholic by then! I just got to attend the closing mass for the Vigil for Life at the National Basilica with Cardinal-designate Dolan. He’s awesome. 🙂

    • Darlene – you should go! Although I think this is a great excuse to visit Holy Hill, the only downside is that the scenic tower may not be open yet – I think it traditionally opens on the first of May. But, perhaps considering how close it will be, and with Cardinal-designate Dolan there, maybe they can make an exception…?

      That’s so wonderful you got to attend a Mass he celebrated. I don’t think I’ve ever actually seen a Cardinal before, so I’m looking forward to this. Assuming everything works out, I think my boyfriend and I will have to go, even though I’m not wild about Saturday Mass.

  2. Pingback: Kansas City Missouri Temple Open House Tickets (and Other Events) « Here is the Church…

  3. Pingback: Basilica #3 – Basilica of the National Shrine of Mary, Help of Christians at Holy Hill « Here is the Church…

  4. Pingback: Mass with Cardinal Dolan at Holy Hill « Here is the Church…

Leave a Reply

