Updated Map

About a year and a half ago, I started working on an updated map for the site. I wanted it to not only have the basilicas, but any other religious site I had an interest in visiting. I also wanted the icons to be indicative of what type of site they represented.

I did manage to complete those goals, although I was hoping to also make the map filterable. For example, if you were only interested in Jewish sites, you could clear all the others off the map. I never did quite figure out if WordPress (or even Google Maps) supports that, and the project fell by the wayside.

I took some time recently to update the map so I could post it on the site. Although there is no filtering, this map is an improvement over its predecessor. You can see little umbraculums for the basilicas, little Stars of David for Jewish sites, and so on. And, those places I have yet to visit are transparent, to help better separate where I have and haven’t been.

So, click around. See if there’s anything nearby that you might want to visit. And of course, I would love feedback on how to make the map more useful.

Leave a Reply

