Cathedral Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe (Dallas, Texas)

Or, for all those whose Spanish is better than mine, Cathedral Santuario de Guadalupe. Not a basilica, but a beautiful church nevertheless. I had the opportunity to be in the Dallas, Texas area for an academic conference March 8-13, and it happened to be held mere blocks from the cathedral. And by mere blocks, I mean that the following was the view outside of my hotel room (thank goodness for the corner room!):

Hotel Room View

What is that beautiful little building in the center? Why, it’s the cathedral!

Cathedral Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe

While this proximity was great from a “going to Mass” perspective, that never actually happened due to the amount of activity at the conference. I wish I had the opportunity to go, particularly to a Mass celebrated in Spanish (as most of them were). Although I never did make it to Mass, my roommate and I walked over just to check it out before lunch on Friday. There were several people already there when we got there, so all the pictures I have are of the exterior of the church.

Cathedral Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe

Cathedral Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe

Our Lady of Guadalupe Statue

Our Lady of Guadalupe Statue

The inside of the church is plainly decorated, although perhaps that’s just because of Lent. They have a gorgeous painting (at least, I think it was a painting) of Our Lady of Guadalupe behind the altar, and the bishop’s seat just to the left of the altar.

Probably my favorite part of this church is the stained glass – I would’ve loved to get a picture of it, although it would’ve been difficult to do it justice! It seems to me that most stained glass tends to use very vivid colors, but this church’s stained glass was done in pastels, which were just beautiful.

Anyway, just wanted to share those pictures. Although graduate school may not be the most glamorous job there is, it certainly does offer some pretty amazing travel opportunities!

4 thoughts on “Cathedral Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe (Dallas, Texas)

  1. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes (vol. 16) « Here is the Church…

  2. Hello my name is Sra. Rosaelia Salinas de Plainview,Texas and were moving to Dallas the end of next week and my husband and I would like to attent to your church as members of Our Lady of Guadalupe from Plainview we would love to jion while were in Dallas but I would like to have your adress so that we can be there next Sunday. My phone # is 806-518-7419 Email adress is rosaelia.salinas@yahoo.com could you please send to by text or Email before Tuseday night.

    Thank You
    Sra. Rosaelia Salinas

  3. I wanted to see if I can please make sure this is where my friend will
    have his funeral service. I know it will be Friday afternoon.
    His name is Richard Valderas.
    Thank you,
    Debra Wear

    • Hi Debra – I’m afraid I don’t live in Dallas (or even Texas!), but I recommend calling the cathedral to ask. The phone number is 214-871-1362. Good luck, and I’m sorry for your loss.

Leave a comment